NARC Committee Meeting, 1900hrs, 22nd February 2016

DCP Micro

Great Ellingham

Norfolk

AGENDA

Attendees		
1	Apologies for absence	
2	2 Previous Minutes Approved	
P	roposed S	Seconded
3	Matters Arising	
4 AGM Awards to be considered		
	a) Koblenz Pl	ate
	b) Peter Ives	G3ASQ Youth Award
	c) John Wadr	nan Key
	d) Speaker of	Year 2015

Club Vote

- e) Foxhunt Trophy
- f) Construction Comp -

Club Vote, Slips to be handed out at club

- g) Committee Cup (NARC Cup)
- h) Presidents Cup
- i) Certificate of Appreciation
- j) DX Ladder 2015 Winner (Certificate)

Last Years Winners

2014 winners

- a) Koblenz Plate no one
- b) Peter Ives G3ASQ Youth Award No one
- c) John Wadman Key The Hendry Family
- d) Speaker of Year 2013 Jim Bacon, G3LYA
- e) Foxhunt Trophy Bittern Group Steve M0HET, Duncan M0WTG, Alex G3YOA
- f) Construction Comp Bob G8SDU
- g) Committee Cup (NARC Cup) Sonny, 2E0SYW
- h) Presidents Cup Simon M0EBN
- i) Certificate of Appreciation John M6JAU & Peter Williams (not licensed) for Bright Sparks, Carol Meridith at the RSGB for her exam help M6MUB
- j) DX Ladder 2014 Winner (Certificate) Chris G0DWV
- 5 Club finances and Accounts GOLGJ
- 6 Club of the year sign off Malcolm G3PDH

7 Letter 2E0TWQ re Malc G0EGA headstone

AOB

Next Meeting date

Meeting Closed

NOTES for the Awards

Rules for NARC Trophies

Trophies shall be awarded annually at the Annual General Meeting.

The Committee Cup. (Also known as the NARC Cup.)

Open to any Member, who at the time of selection is not an Officer of the Club or a Member of the Committee. The recipient to be selected in January of each year by the then existing Committee who shall chose the Member they deem to have achieved most to assist and promote the success of the Club during the previous year. Should the deliberations of the Committee prove inconclusive and a ballot is necessary the President shall abstain and cast the deciding vote in the event of a tie. The name of the winner shall not be divulged until the following AGM.

The President's Cup.

Open to all Members, including the Officers and Members of the Committee.

The recipient to be selected in January of each year by the then President on the basis of the person hedeems to have achieved most to assist and promote the success of the Club during the previous year. The name of the winner shall not be divulged before the following AGM. If heso wishes, the President may consult with the Chairman when making his selection.

The Construction Cup.

A display of home constructed electronic devices shall be held annually.

Two Members with sound technical and construction knowledge, but who are not exhibiting, shall be appointed by the Chairperson or Vice Chairperson to judge the merits of each item. One such judge to be the winner of the event in the previous year. The judges to agree between themselves at least six headings under which marks shall be given in order to determine the winner. If they so wish the judges may award a Certificate of Merit to a constructor for work of a high standard bearing in mind the age, experience and ability of that person. Items may not necessarily have been built in the previous year and may be constructed from a commercial kit. There is no restriction on the number of years any item may be entered providing that it has not previously won an award.

The Foxhunt Trophy.

This trophy shall be awarded to the winner(s) of the Direction Finding Foxhunt Competition in accordance with current rules as set out by the committee.

The winner(s) shall have the option to be the "fox" the following year and find a suitable location from which to operate.

The John Wadman Memorial Key.

Open to any Member of the Club who joined as a newcomer to the hobby and is deemed to have done most to assist and promote the success of the Club during the preceding year. The selection shall be made by the

Committee in January of each year when they may call upon any Licensed Instructors and other Members to assist in that selection.

NB

John Wadman, G0VZD, was Chairperson of NARC from the mid 1990's until 2002 and becoming a silent key in 2003. During this period he devoted considerable time and effort to the training of newcomers in the hobby.

Speaker of the Year Trophy.

To be awarded to the Member who has presented the most interesting talk and/or demonstration during the previous year. Selection will be made by the vote of the Members in January and, to facilitate this step, a list of "in house" talks with the names of the speakers shall be circulated along with a voting slip to be signed by the voting Member. The votes shall be counted by the most senior Officer of the Club who has not made a presentation during the year, and in the event of a tie he will have the casting vote. The name of the winner shall not be divulged before the trophy is to be presented.

Koblenz Plate

To be awarded to a member of the Club as a newcomer to the hobby for personal achievement and advancement in Amateur Radio. The selection shall be made by the committee in January of each year.

The name of the winner shall not be divulged before the trophy is to be presented.

NB

The Koblenz Plate was presented to NARC by Arno Herz DL1PBC and Ralph Schlüsener DM5RS on behalf of the Koblenz Amateur Radio Club during their visit in 2006 to commemorate the Norwich/Koblenz twinning links.

Peter Ives G3ASQ Youth Award

An award presented to the young member (under 18) who has tried hardest and made the most personal progress during the year including helping fellow young colleagues.

The Clubs Youth or Bright Sparks coordinators to make recommendations to the committee as to the most appropriate winner of this award.

NB

Peter Ives, G3ASQ, was a long time member and former president of NARC, (2003 to 2009), who was always keen to encourage youth and became a silent key in 2009.

Discretion of the Committee.

The Committee shall have the right to alter these rules should circumstances so dictate providing any resulting modification maintains the spirit and intention of each award.

Should the above criteria not be met these awards may be held over until the following year.

Restrictions

The Committee Cup, the President's Cup and the John Wadman Memorial Key shall not be presented to the same person two years running. A similar constraint is imposed by the Rules concerning the Construction Cup and the Foxhunt Trophy.

Speaker of the Year Trophy - to be decided by membership. Mark please let me have a complete list of all 2015 programme talks by club members so that I can create a voting form.

Donard de Cogan with "Wireless, Ireland and the Weather War".

Steve Nichols G0KYA with "Baluns and Ununs"

Jim Bacon G3YLA with "Global warming, Propagatin cooling?"

The Quad Copter, talk and demnstration by Geoff Agness G4ODC

Computer logging featuring N1MM + by Malcolm Prestwood G3PDH

RF Power Measurement - Dave Penny G3PEN

Building a multi-band trap vertical - Steve Nichols G0KYA

The Top Ten Radios in WW2 by Steve Appleyard, G3PND